Public and Professional Interest Division

Activity      Activity    Activity
Bar Issues Commission (BIC)   Section on Public and Professional Interest (SPPI)    IBA Human Rights Institute (IBAHRI)

 

The Public and Professional Interest Division (PPID) constitutes a wide array of projects, activities, committees and other entities focussing on issues and professional interests throughout the world that make the practice of law a profession and not only an occupation. Member organisations of the Association and the individual members of the Bar Issues Commission (BIC), IBA Human Rights Institute (IBAHRI) and the Section on Public and Professional Interest (SPPI) are encouraged to undertake, support and promote projects/activities that further the Rule of Law and defend human rights globally.
The PPID Steering Group discusses synergies to ensure the strong continued cooperation of all its constituents. A key component of this is the PPID Activity Fund, which allows for the execution of projects and initiatives that represent the values of the Division as a whole.
 

         
  Stephen Macliver Chair, SPPI                             stephen.macliver@sparke.com.au
         
  Stephen Denyer Secretary-Treasurer, SPPI stephen.denyer@lawsociety.org.uk
         
  Margery Nicoll   Chair, BIC margery.nicoll@lawcouncil.asn.au
         
  Claudio Visco Vice Chair, BIC c.visco@macchi-gangemi.com
         
  Hans Corell Co-Chair, IBAHRI hans.corell@havc.se
         
  Helena Kennedy    Co-Chair, IBAHRI helena@helenakennedy.co.uk
         
  Pascal Lagesse LPD Representative to the PPID pascalelagesse@bredinprat.com
         
         

Important Dates

20–23 May

IBA Mid-Year Meetings, Prague, Czech Republic

Meeting of the SPPI Council members and all SPPI committee and other entities’ officers.

4–9 October

IBA Annual General Conference, Vienna, Austria

Meetings of the SPPI Council members and all SPPI committee and all other entities’ officers.

If you would like more information on the Activity Fund or think you have a potential project or activity to be funded, please contact Becca.verhagen@int-bar.org.

 

  • Download a copy of the Public and Professional Interest Division’s By-Laws.
  • Download the IBA Governing Documents handbook

 

 

 

For more information on the PPID, please contact Becca Verhagen in the London Office at Becca.verhagen@int-bar.org.

Click here for the Staff Contact List

 

 Bookmark with:  FacebookGoogleTwitterYahoo