Terrorism Task Force Members

The Terrorism Task Force members are:

Justice Richard Goldstone (Chair)

Head of UN Fact-Finding Mission on the Gaza Conflict; former judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa; former Chief Prosecutor of the International War Crimes Tribunals for Rwanda and Bosnia; visiting professor at Harvard, NYU and Fordham Universities; former Co-Chair of the IBA Human Rights Institute.

His Honour Professor Judge Eugene Cotran

The first Arab to be appointed High Court Judge in the UK, former judge of the High Court of Kenya, visiting professor of law and chairman of the Centre of Middle Eastern and Islamic law at the School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

Julia A. Hall

Human rights lawyer and researcher on the human rights implications of counter-terrorism measures in Europe for Amnesty International's London-based secretariat.  Previously Senior Counsel in the Terrorism and Counterterrorism Program at Human Rights Watch and author of research and reports documenting the transfers of alleged terrorism and national security suspects.

Juan Mendez

UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and Special Advisor on Crime Prevention at the International Criminal Court (ICC), Office of the Prosecutor. Former president of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and of the International Centre for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) and director of the Inter-American Institute on Human Rights. Visiting professor of law at Washington School of Law. Co-Chair of the IBA Human Rights Institute.

Javaid Rehman

Professor of Law and Deputy Head of Brunel Law School, expert on Islamic law, international human rights law and international terrorism, author of International Terrorism and Islam.

Gijs de Vries

Former EU Counter-Terrorism Coordinator 2004 – 2007, former Deputy Interior Minister of the Netherlands, Chairman of the EU Integration Programme, Center for European Policy Studies, Co-founder of the European Council on Foreign Relations, Member of the Advisory Council of the Center on Global Counter-Terrorism Cooperation. Currently member of the Board, Netherlands Court of Audit.

Elizabeth Stubbins Bates, Rapporteur

David Davies of Llandinam Research Fellow, London School of Economics and Political Science, former Legal Advisor at Amnesty International and consultant to the Program on Humanitarian Policy and Conflict Research, Harvard.