The IBA’s response to the war in Ukraine  

Regulation Directory project - South Africa

Back to Directory

South Africa

Legal Jurisdictions

South Africa

Lawyer Title(s)


Regulator(s) of Admission

The admission exam is administered by the South African Law Society Currently regulated under the Attorneys Act, no. 53 of 1979 by the following four provincial Law Societies: LSNP, KZN, Cape & Free State Once the Legal Practice Act, No. 40 of 2014 becomes operational in 2017/2018, there will be only one responsible national regulator.



Regulator(s) of Practice

Currently 4 Statutory Provincial Law Societies:

1. Law Society of the Northern Provinces (Gauteng, Limpopo, North West and Mpumalanga)
2. Cape Law Society (Western Cape, Eastern Cape and Northern Cape)
3. Kwa Zulu Natal Law Society
4. Law Society of the Free State


1. Law Society of the Northern Provinces http://www.northernlaw.co.za/
2. Cape Law Society http://www.capelawsoc.law.za/
3. Kwa Zulu Natal Law Society https://www.lawsoc.co.za/
4. Law Society of the Free State http://www.fs-law.co.za/

Disciplinary Authorities

The Provincial Law Societies hold disciplinary enquiries and where applicable application (serious misconduct, e.g. theft of client funds) is made to The High Court to have the defaulting attorney struck from the Roll.


The various High Courts where attorneys apply to be admitted to the Roll of Practicing attorneys: http://www.justice.gov.za/about/sa-courts.html


Primary Legislative Source

The Attorney's Act of 1979, as amended



The Legal profession in South Africa is currently in transition with the Consolidation of the Attorneys and Advocate profession under one

(1) regulatory authority, in Terms of the Legal Practice Act (LPA) of 2014 and this will replace the Attorneys Act of 1979 when all provisions of the LPA are brought into effect. Legal Practice Act: http://www.justice.gov.za/legislation/acts/2014-028.pdf