IBA Annual Conference scholarships

IBA Conference scholarships

Each year the International Bar Association (IBA), the world's largest international organisation of law societies, bar associations and individual lawyers engaged in transnational law, holds an Annual Conference, which attracts the participation of some 6000 lawyers from more than 100 jurisdictions. The IBA's Legal Practice Division (LPD), Section of Public and Professional Interest Division (SPPI) and Other Entities present informative and engaging sessions covering current topics of significance to lawyers throughout the world.

The Annual Conference working sessions are complemented by a full social programme which provides the opportunity for delegates meet, establish and maintain business contacts and friendships with peers of the legal profession worldwide.

Scholarships are awarded to young lawyers who wish to participate at the Annual Conference, but may find it financially difficult to do so.

The 2018 Conference Scholarships are now CLOSED.

To register your interest for the 2019 Conference Scholarship opportunities, please click here

Please click here to view the full list of scholarships

These scholarship opportunities are available to those who meet the following criteria:

  • 'Young Lawyer’ is defined as any lawyer up to and including the age of 35 at the time of the conference.
  • Applicants must either be:
    • a fully qualified lawyer who is licenced / registered to practice as a lawyer with the relevant professional regulatory body; or
    • undertaking the qualification process (education and/or vocational) to pass the bar (or the equivalent qualification in the relevant jurisdiction) to become fully qualified, providing they hold a temporary or permanent licence to practice as a trainee, or are undertaking a training scheme that is recognised by the professional regulatory body.
  • IBA membership is not a requirement to submit application
  • Employees of the IBA, officers of any IBA entity and relatives of the above are excluded from the competition.
  • Previous winners of any LPD/SPPI Conference Scholarships are also excluded from the competition. All other applicants from previous years may reapply.
  • Each participant may submit one essay/application for one scholarship in a calendar year.

Select scholarships may have additional criteria.

The Conference scholarship award includes the following:

  • waived registration for the IBA Annual Conference;
  • accommodation while attending the conference;
  • contribution towards travel costs to attend the conference;
  • two year free membership of the IBA, including membership of one committee within the awarding section of the Legal Practice Division, and one committee within the Section on Public and Professional Interest (SPPI);
  • a waiver of either the following years' IBA Annual Conference registration fee or a waived registration fee to attend a speciality conference sponsored by any committee within the awarding LPD section

2017 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Conference Sydney Scholarship programme

  • Academic and Professional Development Committee - Kinley Gyeltshen, Bhutan
  • Access to Justice and Legal Aid Committee - Precious-Rhoda Edwei Akpabey, Ghana
  • African Regional Forum - Titilayo Ajayi, Nigeria
  • Alternative and New Law Business Structures Committee - Derya Durlu Gürzumar, Turkey
  • Antitrust and Trade Law Section - Lauren Battaglia, USA
  • Asia Pacific Regional Forum - Elena Kim, New Zealand
  • Aviation Law Committee - Mansi Singh, India
  • Criminal Law Section - Paloma Blazquez, Spain
  • Dispute Resolution Section - Eva Litina, Greece
  • Energy, Environment, Natural Resources and Infrastructure Law (SEERIL) Section - Meghna Chandra, UK
  • European Regional Forum - Verena Wieditz, France
  • Family Law Committee - Mark Ablett, UK
  • Financial Services Section - Aldo Turella, Italy
  • Individual Tax and Private Client Committee - Venetia Argyropoulou, Cyprus
  • Intellectual Property, Communications and Technology Law Section - Nazli Cansin Karga Giritli, UK
  • International Sales, Franchising and Product Law Section - Calvin Leung, Canada
  • Law Firm Management Committee - Chidera Igweagu, Nigeria
  • Leisure Industries Section - Probal Bose, India
  • Michael Prior Scholarship (Insolvency Section) - Fabio Weinberg Crocco, USA
  • North American Regional Forum - Juan Pablo Hugues Arthur, Mexico
  • Professional Ethics Committee - Aditi Rani, India
  • Real Estate Section - Zuzanna Wencel-Czuryszkiewicz, Poland
  • Taxes Committee - Julie Abdalla, Australia

Past winners

To see a list of the winning scholars of the past Conference Scholarships:

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Annual Conference Washington Scholarship programme

Access to Justice and Legal Aid Committee

  • Shafaq Asmat, Pakistan

Alternative Business Structures Committee

  • Isobelle Watts, Australia

Antitrust and Trade Law Section

  • Emilio Vazquez, Mexico

Aviation Law Committee

  • Roberta Verdesca, Italy

Corporate Law Section

  • Victoriia Dobrynska, Ukraine

Criminal Law Section

  • Pavlo Bespalov, Ukraine

Dispute Resolution Section

  • Karina Travaglione, Australia

European Regional Forum

  • John Morgan, Scotland

Family Law Committee

  • Mabel Tembo-Chakoleka, Zambia

Financial Services Section

  • Cynthia Onyinyechi Igodo, Nigeria

Human Rights Law Committee

  • Freya Dinshaw, Australia

Individual Tax and Private Client Committee

  • Helen Citron, England

Intellectual Property, Communications and Technology Law Section

  • Zehra Betul Ayranci, Turkey

Law Firm Management Committee

  • Evans Moyo, Zimbabwe

Maritime and Transport Law Committee

  • Carmel Proudfoot, Australia

Professional Ethics Committee

  • Oksana Kotsovska, Ukraine

Real Estate Section

  • Kamil Lewandowski, Poland

Regulation of Lawyers Compliance Committee

  • Elmer Muna, Estonia


  • Jane Chinyere Ezirigwe, Nigeria

Taxes Committee

  • Guzman Ramirez, Uruguay

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Annual Conference Vienna Scholarship programme

Antitrust and Trade Law Section

  • Thiago Nascimento dos Reis, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Aviation Law

  • Juan Manuel Estrada, Mexico City, Mexico

Corporate Law Section

  • Malaveeka Chakravarthy, Bangalore, India

Criminal Law Section

  • Nahid Rabbi, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Dispute Resolution Section

  • Courtney Furner, Mendoza, Argentina

Energy, Environment, Natural Resources an Infrastructure Law Section (SEERIL)

  • Saelese Haynes, Mt. Lambert, Trinidad

European Regional Forum

  • Antonio Modola, S. Giorgio La Molara, Italy

Financial Services Section

  • Kefa Nsubuga, Kampala, Uganda

Individual Tax and Private Client Committee

  • Jorge Liendo, Lima, Peru

Insolvency Section

  • Natalia Anokhina, Lviv, Ukraine

Intellectual Property, Communications and Technology Law Section

  • Alyssa Cervantes, Brussels, Belgium (origin: USA)

Law Firm Management Committee: East African Law Society

  • Isaiah Munje, Nairobi, Kenya

Law Firm Management Committee: South African Development Community Lawyers Association

  • Doreen Vimbai Gapare, Harare, Zimbabwe

Magna Carta, Student

  • Gavin Dingley, Hartlepool, United Kingdom

Magna Carta, Young Lawyer

  • Nkiruka Maduekwe, London, United Kingdom (origin: Nigeria)

Real Estate Section

  • Pavlina Ivanova, Sofia, Bulgaria

Taxation Section

  • Pim Duteweert, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Congratulations to the past winners of the IBA 2013 Annual Conference Boston Scholarship programme