IBA heads of departments

All routine enquiries should be sent to iba@int-bar.org or member@int-bar.org

Executive Director: Mark Ellis

E-mail: mark.ellis@int-bar.org
Short bio: Download
Resume: Download

Senior Executive Assistant: Talia Dove

E-mail: talia.dove@int-bar.org
Personal and project support to Executive Director; organisation and administration of Management Board.

Deputy Executive Director: Tim Hughes

E-mail: tim.hughes@int-bar.org
​​​​​​​Oversees the operational work and growth of the IBA, including its publications, online presence, legal projects and research, technology, conferences, membership, branding, marketing, sponsorship and public relations - in its London head office and regional offices around the world. Engaged in the IBA's partnerships with other global bodies including the United Nations and the OECD, works closely with the IBA's Human Rights Institute, and is a Trustee of eyeWitness, the UK charity which supports the gathering of evidence of human rights crimes.

Corporate Secretary: Rowan Paterson

E-mail: rowan.paterson@int-bar.org
Guides the IBA Officers and Management Board on their responsibilities under the rules and regulations to which they are subject and on how those responsibilities should be discharged. Advises the Board and its Committees on all matters of corporate governance.

Human Resources Director: Donna Canty

E-mail: donna.canty@int-bar.org
​​​​​​​ Departmental E-mail: recruitment@int-bar.org
​​​​​​​Human resource management

Operations Director: Joe Bell

E-mail: joe.bell@int-bar.org
​​​​​​​Management and oversight of Marketing, Membership, Sponsorship, Divisions and IBA offices in London, Sao Paulo, Seoul, Washington DC and the Hague.

Human Rights Institute Director: Helena Kennedy

E-mail: Helena.Kennedy@int-bar.org
Management of IBAHRI. Missions; long-term technical assistance; interventions; trial observations; workshops; training; newsletters; surveys; and fundraising.

Director of Legal Projects: Sara Carnegie

E-mail: Sara.Carnegie@int-bar.org
Overseeing the Legal Policy and Research team and Bar Issues Commission (BIC) legal project lawyer.

Divisions Director: Ronnie Hayward

E-mail: ronnie.hayward@int-bar.org
Management and oversight of LPD;  communications between IBA Office, committee officers and members.

Head of Divisions Administration: Astrid Wargenau

E-mail: astrid.wargenau@int-bar.org
Management and oversight of SPPI; communication between IBA Office, committee officers and members.

Head of BIC: Becca Verhagen

E-mail: becca.verhagen@int-bar.org
Management and oversight of the Bar Issues Commission; administration of IBA Council meetings and Standing Committees;

Departmental E-mail: divisions@int-bar.org

Conferences Director: Julie Elliott

E-mail: julie.elliott@int-bar.org
Departmental E-mail: confs@int-bar.org
Management of the department; planning and direction of regional and specialist conferences; implementation of the direction of major conferences.

Head of Marketing: Jennie Castro

E-mail: jennie.castro@int-bar.org
Departmental E-mail: ibamarketing@int-bar.org
Management and oversight of all the IBA marketing activities, materials and promotion.

Membership Manager: Joanna Budzowska-Gawlak

E-mail: joanna.budzowska-gawlak@int-bar.org
Departmental E-mail: member@int-bar.org
Management of the department; oversight of all activities and initiatives around membership for the entire IBA.

Head of Advertising & Sponsorship: Andrew Webster-Dunn

E-mail: Andrew.Webster-Dunn@int-bar.org
Management of the department; responsible for all aspects of advertising & sponsorship for all conferences, publications and websites including policy, structure and processes.

Content Director: James Lewis

E-mail: james.lewis@int-bar.org
Departmental E-mail: editor@int-bar.org
Editorial responsibility for IBA Global Insight and all the IBA's journals and magazines; newsletters; editorial content of e-news and website.

Creative Director: Tim Licence

E-mail: tim.licence@int-bar.org
Production responsibility for all publications; newsletters; books; promotional materials; management of web team and responsibility for development of website user experience; Branding and visual identity; photography and filming.

Finance Director: Lucie Risley

E-mail: lucie.risley@int-bar.org
Departmental E-mail: account@int-bar.org
Quarterly and annual accounts; management of department; tax returns.

Office Manager: Lowri Williams

E-mail: lowri.williams@int-bar.org
Office services, facilities and supplies; HR support; management of IT