IBA Annual Conference Sydney 2017

8 Oct - 13 Oct 2017

Room C3.3, Convention Centre, Level 3

Session information

IBAHRI Showcase: Women ‘firsts’ – how does international and domestic law help (or hinder) women to succeed in Australia and elsewhere?
Room C3.3, Convention Centre, Level 3


IBA's Human Rights Institute (Lead)


Gender equality is a fundamental aspect of international human rights and Australian anti-discrimination legislation. However, the precise meaning of equality is debated and the means by which equality is achieved are unclear. As more women attain prominent positions, what effect does this have on the meaning and application of concepts such as equality and affirmative action? The panel will be comprised of eminent women who have broken the glass ceiling in their professions, including the legal profession. They will discuss women’s rights and women’s advancement in the context of their own histories, as well as in relation to domestic and international laws, and other factors, that helped or hindered them. The session will complement the sessions being held by the IBA’s Women Lawyers’ Interest Group on gender diversity for lawyers (Thursday 0930 – 1045) and the business and law firm management aspects of increasing the ratio of female talent in law firms (Monday 0930 – 1045). This IBA’s Human Rights Institute encourages legal professionals to attend this showcase to discuss best practice, share personal experiences and participate in a substantial Q&A component with the panellists.

Session / Workshop Chair(s)

Baroness Helena Kennedy KC IBA Human Rights Institute, London, England; Co-Chair, IBA's Human Rights Institute


Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Hon Linda Burney MP Shadow Minister for Human Services and Federal Member for Barton, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Hon Mary Gaudron KC Former Justice of the High Court of Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Fiona McLeod AO KC Victorian Bar, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia; President / Chairperson, Member Organisations