IBA Annual Conference Sydney 2017

8 Oct - 13 Oct 2017

Room C4.11, Convention Centre, Level 4

Session information

Stop failing technology projects: trends and best practices

Thursday 12 October (0930 - 1230)

Room C4.11, Convention Centre, Level 4


Technology Law Committee (Lead)


Technology projects continue to fail in great numbers. Some surveys show that it may be up to 50 per cent of all technology projects that do not produce the expected outcome. This session will examine the reasons for such failures and what can be learned from such projects. Topics include: • What is the status of success with technology contracts in different parts of the world and within different industries? • Why are they failing and what is the key to ensuring success? • How to craft a deal that locks in value and business objectives? • What is the trinity of quality, pricing and requirement specifications, and how do they play together? • How can the use of output related key performance indicators (KPIs) and flexible and dynamic application of penalties and bonuses be used? • What are effective, best practice governance regimes? • What is the role of lawyers in bringing down the failure rate? The panel will feature representatives from a global information technology (IT) provider (such as IBM, Accenture TCS or the like), the Australian Government and an international company as a buyer of material IT, as well as representatives from across different parts of the world. This session will provide unique business and IT project insights. The panel promises to provide a variety of competing, international views on one of the hottest topics in the technology sector. Attorneys focused on technology should not miss this session.

Session / Workshop Chair(s)

Søren Skibsted Kromann Reumert, Copenhagen, Denmark; Vice Chair, Technology Law Committee


Debabrata Dutt Tata Consultancy Services, Singapore, Singapore
Elisa Henry Henry Tech B. V., The Hague, Netherlands
Joacim Johannesson Setterwalls Advokatbyrå AB, Stockholm, Sweden; Vice Chair, Data Law Subcommittee
Ken Saurajen Clayton Utz, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia